GLORY 87 Results

GLORY 87 Results

Sunday, Aug 20 2023 by GLORY Press Office

GLORY 87 took place from the electric Rotterdam Ahoy arena in the Netherlands on Saturday evening, August 19, and it proved to be another big night of kickboxing with a lot of breakout performances and big victories.

Taking centre stage of the night was the four-man heavyweight tournament where the winner books his spot in the historic end of year eight-man GLORY Heavyweight Grand Prix.

The honours went to the explosive Bahram Rajabzadeh (65-1, 58 KO) as the Azerbaijani put on two equally stellar performances to win the tournament. In the semi-finals he defeated Mohamed Amine (29-6, 16 KO) thanks to two knockdowns and showcasing a dazzling display of offence before using his superior skill & speed against Estonian giant Uku Jürjendal (19-8, 15 KO) in the finals.

Rajabzadeh will now go up against the likes of Tariq Osaro, Sofian Laïdouni, and five other yet to be determined heavyweights - which will include either Badr Hari or James McSweeney who meet at GLORY 88 in Paris next month - this December. The winner will walk away with a life-changing $500,000 prize.

In the co-main event, Tyjani Beztati (25-4, 9 KO) retained his GLORY lightweight championship as he cruised to a one-sided unanimous decision victory over Japanese superstar Kaito Ono (48-7-1, 21 KO). This is the 25-year-old’s fourth title defence and, arguably, his most impressive as he truly establishes himself as the king of the lightweight division.

Ghana’s Michael Boapeah (16-3-1, 7 KO) avenged his 2022 loss to Germany’s Sergej Braun (43-13, 27 KO) with his most mature and all-round impressive performance to date. It has been a breakout year for the number one ranked middleweight thanks to three victories on the bounce as he declares himself ready for a title shot.

Elsewhere on the main card, former champ & GLORY legend Murthel Groenhart (70-26-3, 40 KO) rolled back the years to put on a vintage display against German prospect Cihad Akipa (49-12, 18 KO) and rising Dutch star Jan Kaffa (20-3, 7 KO) enjoyed his second GLORY victory as he rallied from behind to score a victory over Mohamed El Hammouti (7-2, 4 KO).

In the GLORY 87 prelims, it was third time lucky for Morocco’s Imad Hadar (25-2, 9 KO) as he finally registered his first victory in GLORY thanks to a hard-fought decision victory over durable Pole Bartosz Muszynski (26-4, 5 KO). And in the opening bout of the night, Serbian heavyweight Nikola Filipovic (11-2, 6 KO) handed Romania’s Cristian Ristea (44-11, 21 KO) a decision loss on his promotional debut.


GLORY 87 Results

Main Event
Heavyweight Tournament Final

Bahram Rajabzadeh (65-1, 58 KO) def. Uku Jürjendal (19-8, 15 KO) via unanimous decision (30-27 x 5)

Co-Main Event
GLORY Lightweight Title

Tyjani Beztati (25-4, 9 KO) def. Kaito Ono (48-7-1, 21 KO) via unanimous decision (50-45 x 5)

Michael Boapeah (16-3-1, 7 KO) def. Sergej Braun (43-13, 27 KO) via unanimous decision (30-27 x 4, 29-28)

Murthel Groenhart (70-26-3, 40 KO) def. Cihad Akipa (49-12, 18 KO) via unanimous decision (30-27 x 4, 29-28)

Jan Kaffa (20-3, 7 KO) def. Mohamed El Hammouti (7-2, 4 KO) via split decision (29-28 x 4, 28-29)

Heavyweight Tournament Semi-Final 2
Uku Jürjendal (19-7, 15 KO) def. Martin Terpstra (26-6, 13 KO) via TKO (two knockdown rule), round 1, 2:23

Heavyweight Tournament Semi-Final 1

Bahram Rajabzadeh (64-1, 58 KO) def. Mohamed Amine (29-6, 16 KO) via TKO (two knockdown rule), round 2, 2:59

Imad Hadar (25-2, 9 KO) def. Bartosz Muszynski (26-4, 5 KO) via unanimous decision (30-25, 30-26 x 4)

Heavyweight Tournament Reserve Bout
Nikola Filipovic (11-2, 6 KO) def. Cristian Ristea (44-11, 21 KO) via split decision (30-27, 29-28 x 3, 28-29)