Be the first to receive priority access tickets, exclusive offers and the latest news about Glory events and fighters.

Date of Birth

I have read and agree with the GLORY Terms & Conditions.

Sign up
Back to news

Adegbuyi confirmed as final Grand Prix entrant

  • News
  • Feb 17, 2024

GLORY confirms that multiple-time GLORY heavyweight tournament winner Benjamin Adegbuyi (35-7, 20 KO) will take the eighth and final spot in the GLORY Heavyweight Grand Prix at the GelreDome on 9 March 2024 in Arnhem, the Netherlands. The winner of this eight-man one-night tournament must win three bouts consecutively to take home the Grand Prix trophy and a life-changing $500,000.

‘Mr. Gentleman’ is currently ranked 9th in the GLORY heavyweight division, has won an incredible three GLORY heavyweight tournaments in his career, and was the runner-up in the last GLORY Heavyweight Grand Prix back in 2018.

GLORY confirms Adegbuyi’s participation following the refusal of Jamal Ben Saddik to enter the Grand Prix. GLORY looks forward to Ben Saddik’s return to the GLORY ring later this year.

“Adegbuyi was already confirmed compete in the reserve fight at the Grand Prix” said Robbie Timmers, GLORY Head of Sports & Talent. “However, to be clear, we listened to the voice of our fans as they campaigned for Jamal to enter and we offered him a place on no uncertain terms. Ultimately, he made the decision to not take part, citing lack of preparation. Now Benny has an enormous chance to show his martial arts skills, courage, experience, and to shine in our Grand Prix format.”

As a result, Cihad Kepenek (21-6, 15 KO) will rematch Michał Bławdziewicz (11-6-1, 5 KO) in the reserve bout. The Polish slugger was previously confirmed as a standby fighter.

GLORY Heavyweight Grand Prix Tournament

Quarter-Final 1
Levi Rigters (15-1, 7 KO) vs. Uku Jürjendal (20-8, 16 KO)

Quarter-Final 2
Tariq ‘Cookie’ Osaro (25-3-1, 13 KO) vs. Bahram Rajabzadeh (65-1, 58 KO)

Quarter-Final 3
Nabil Khachab (25-18, 13 KO) vs. Benjamin Adegbuyi (35-7, 20 KO)

Quarter Final 4
Rico Verhoeven (61-10, 20 KO) vs. Sofian Laïdouni (35-2-1, 17 KO)

Semi-Final 1
Winner of QF1 vs. Winner of QF2

Semi-Final 2
Winner of QF3 vs. Winner of QF4

Heavyweight Grand Prix Final
Winner of SF 1 vs. Winner of SF 2

March 9 will also feature two GLORY title fights as Donegi Abena (27-9, 7 KO) and Tarik Khbabez (49-10-1, 28 KO) meet to decide who is the undisputed king of the GLORY light heavyweight division and lightweight champion Tyjani Beztati (25-4, 9 KO) puts his title on the line against top German Enriko Kehl (52-15-2, 30 KO).


Related newsRelated news