Be the first to receive priority access tickets, exclusive offers and the latest news about Glory events and fighters.

Date of Birth

I have read and agree with the GLORY Terms & Conditions.

Sign up
Back to news

Beztati wants Sitthichai showdown if he wins GLORY 49 Contender Tournament

  • News
  • Dec 6, 2017

With four wins from four appearances, young prospect Tyjani Beztati carries an undefeated GLORY record into this Saturday night’s GLORY 49 ROTTERDAM Lightweight Contender Tournament.   The winner of a Contender Tournament usually places himself either in immediate title contention or very close to it, so Beztati is potentially just two wins away from taking a title at the lightweight strap which currently adorns the waist of Sitthichai Sitsongpeenong.   “Win the tournament and its another step closer to the title. Sitthichai next. He’s a strong fighter but so am I. He’s got that gold strap and that’s what I want,” he says.   It will be Beztati’s first tournament and in the semi-final stage he is matched with Niclas Larsen, a strong Danish competitor who was riding a three-fight win streak prior to an upset loss to Massaro Glunder in his last outing.    “It’s a tough sport and a little pressure is good. I know how to fight under pressure so it’s all good,” he says.    “I face Niclas Larsen in the semi finals and I am ready for that, I have a good team around me. He’s a different type of a fighter, [unorthodox], but I faced a lot of guys like that and I know how to change my style and adapt.   “The other semi-final we have Stoyan Koprivlenski and Maykol Yurk… I don’t care who I face in the finals. My focus is on Larsen and after that we see who is in the final. But Yurk is just a 65 kilo guy who got his ass kicked there and now moved up, so we will see what happens. Maybe he will surprise everyone.”     


On December 9th, don't miss GLORY 49 Rotterdam on ESPN3 at 11am ET / 8am PT.

GLORY 49 Rotterdam will air live and free worldwide on * excluding in the United States of America, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Slovenia.

Related newsRelated news